

## **TBLA Service Awards**

The inaugural service/recognition awards were presented at the TBLA LawFest on March 31, 2001. These awards were instituted to recognize the significant contributions that TBLA members have made to the citizens and the legal community of Thunder Bay. The individuals honoured with these awards have spent countless hours of their time, and their expertise with many worthy volunteer organizations, such as the Children's Centre, the United Way, the Rotary Club, and many more. They have also participated in professional organizations such as the Advocate's Society, Ontario Bar Association, Criminal Lawyers Association, Lawyers Feed the Hungry and our own Thunder Bay Law Association to provide leadership, educational training, and collegiality for the local bar. These individuals, along with many other TBLA members, continue to provide countless volunteer hours for the benefit of everyone in the Thunder Bay community.

YEAR	SERVICE TO COMMUNITY	SERVICE TO PROFESSION
2000/01	Keith Jobbitt	John Atwood / Ross Murray, Q.C.
2001/02	Ross Judge / Robert Edwards	Nicholas Pustina, Q.C.
2002/03	Jim Johnson	Kevin Cleghorn
2003/04	John Filipovic	Anthony Carfagnini
2004/05	Seppo Paivalainen	Kristopher Knutsen
2005/06	David Shannon	Kristen Bucci
2006/07	Sally Colquhoun	Bill Covello
2007	Janice Vauthier	Kevin Brothers
2008	Brian Babcock	B. Lee Baig, Q.C.
2009	Gil Labine	Stephen Wojciechowski
2010	John Erickson, Q.C.	Not awarded
2011	Allan G. McKitrick, Q.C.	Madame Justice Helen Pierce
2012	Justice Terry Platana	Randall Johns
2013	David Dubinsky	John G. Illingworth
2014	Not awarded	Justice John DeP. Wright / Justice Dan Newton
2015	Paul Deighton	Terry-Lynn Miettinen
2016	Douglas Shanks	Robin Clinker
2017	Rosa Carlino	Ken Ritson
2018	Lydia Stam	Chris Hacio / Brian Babcock
2019	Kimberley Gagan	George Joseph
2020	Katy Commisso	Justice Elaine Burton
2021	Johnny de Bakker	Kady Stachiw
2022	Stella Vallelunga	Rodi-Lynn Rusnick-Kinisky