

James L. Murray Memoríal Award

This award was established at the Board meeting of April 13, 2018 to honour the memory of Mr. Jim (James) Murray, who passed away suddenly in January 2018. He was an outstanding advocate and long-time member of the local bar. The first recipient of this award was Jack Jamieson, an outstanding professional in the practice of law, as have been all the subsequent award winners. He was presented with a plaque at the March 27, 2019 AGM. All recipients of this award receive a small wall plaque of recognition, as well as having their names engraved on the large wall plaque displayed in the TBLA Lounge. Nominations for this award are reviewed by the Public Service Awards Committee with the following criteria considered:

"Awarded to a member of the TBLA that displays the highest standards of ethics, professionalism, and civility in his/her practice as an advocate."

2018 – Jack Jamieson, Carrel + Partners 2019 – James Wilcox, Legal Aid Ontario 2020 – John W. McDonald, John W. McDonald Law Office 2021 – John Illingworth, Atwood Labine LLP 2022 – Randall Johns, Ericksons LLP